My Thoughts on Batman Vs Superman: Dawn of Justice.

Batman vs Superman Dawn of Justice

_1400732572

Rating: 6

{{Warning: There will be spoilers.}

I as many others, was extremely eager to see this movie. Since the source material was absolutely remarkable and revolutionized the super hero genre; I was under the impression it was going to be a phenomenal film and a box office juggernaut. I anticipated it being the bee’s knees,  breaking numerous records and solidifying the DC cinematic universe with authority; unfortunately it didn’t live up to everyone’s expectations. It generated mostly negative reviews , the critics roasted and torched it, while fans were split down the middle.  Some reviews were very harsh, sort of like this one.

“A momentum-less ode to un-creative people everywhere that torches two of pop culture’s greatest characters and uses their ashes as its own personal urinal cake.” by J. Olson

In my honest opinion I slightly favored it, the film was okay enough for me to incorporate it to my DVD collection; but it’s definitely one of those movies you would  enjoy more if your high. The movie simply proves that DC is the Pepsi to Marvel’s Coca Cola. Despite it’s flaws of incoherent and unorganized story telling  I loved the performances of the new Batman (Ben Affleck) and Alfred (Jeremy Irons). When they are on screen together you can feel the chemistry between these two iconic thespians. The few action sequences that are in the film are truly breathtaking and undeniable spectacular. Batman’s fighting style reminds me of the Arkham video games and  just as that Dark Knight kicked @$$ and didn’t even bother to take names, so does Batfleck. The battle between the Last Son of Krypton and the Bat of Gotham was my favorite sequence; and the way it was portrayed, made it believable for the entire audience. The final fight was just as great, I loved seeing DC’s Trinity battle the nearly unstoppable Doomsday AKA the deceased General Zod and the demented Lex Luthor Jr.’s love child. Although I enjoyed it, I understand the negative reviews it garnished. Zack Snyder was unable to create an esemplastic plot, there was simply to much going on with no thorough explanation.  I have read the original cut was about 4 hours long, which would explain the lack of important information withheld from the audience.

Check out this pic of the Iron-Bat waiting for his showdown and battle to the death with the Man of Steel. Luckily for Superman the orphaned mama’s boy was able to snap out of his blood lust when he discovers him and Clark’s mothers have the same name; Martha. Something I never noticed before, while others criticized it I was able to comprehend it. Hearing the name was able to touch Bruce Wayne’s noble side.

Batman-v-Superman-Dawn-of-Justice-Batman

 

I think they should have used the famous quote that Batman said to Superman

  • We could have changed the world…now…look at us…I’ve become a political liability…and…you…you’re a joke. I want you to remember, Clark…in all the years to come…in your most private moments…I want you to remember…my hand…at your throat…I want…you to remember…the one man who beat you.

This line is as iconic as the two heroes, check it out in the animated movie “The Dark Knight Rises”. It’s sad to say but the animated version of the showdown between the World’s Finest was better than the Live-action interpretation.

I urge you to see the film and formulate your own opinion because it isn’t as bad as everyone is saying it is, but what do I know I was high out of my mind when I saw it.

Official Synopsis: Fearing the actions of a god-like super hero left unchecked, Gotham City’s own formidable, forceful vigilante takes on Metropolis’s most revered, modern-day savior, while the world wrestles with what sort of hero it really needs.  And with Batman and Superman at war with one another, a new threat quickly arises, putting mankind in greater danger than it’s ever known before.

Leave a Reply

